Constituents are the people who live in a particular electorate who elect a person to represent them in a legislative body.

New South Wales is divided into 93 geographic areas known as electorates.  The constituents in each of these electorates vote for one member to represent them in the Legislative Assembly. The constituents of members of the Legislative Council are all the voters in New South Wales who elect representatives to fill the 42 seats in that House.