New South Wales is divided into geographical areas called electorates which contain approximately the same number of people.

Members of the Legislative Assembly each represent one of the 93 electorates. For the Legislative Council, the electorate is the whole state.

There are also federal electorates across the whole of Australia for Members of the Australian House of Representatives.