The New South Wales Legislative Assembly ‘expires’ after four years, in accordance with the New South Wales Constitution. After expiration, an election is held to elect a new Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Council, because it has different electoral conditions, does not expire – half of all Members of the Legislative Council are elected at each general election.E