Parli-Flicks Short Film Award 2024

Parli-Flicks Short Film Award 2024

If you were a Member of Parliament, what is the one law that you would want to pass?  


Enter the Parli-Flicks Short Film Award and create a one-minute short film,  

telling us what you would do and how you would do it?  


Open to Year 5 to 12 students in NSW 

Entries close 26 July 2024   


Across the world and throughout time, societies have had to make decisions that will work for the majority of their population.

In Australia, we’ve chosen a democratic system of government. This means we elect representatives to parliament who report our views, make decisions on our behalf and make laws for the whole community.  

After they are elected, Members of Parliament come to Parliament to make laws and represent their constituents. They make speeches in the chamber about important issues in their electorate. They propose solutions to problems and suggest ideas for laws that they hope will make our society work better.  

Find out more about the Role of a Member of Parliament here 


To enter the Parli-Flicks short film award create a one-minute film answering the theme question:

Five entries will be shortlisted in the following categories: 

These shortlisted finalists will be invited to an awards night at the Parliament of NSW in Sydney, where the Overall Winner will be announced. Regional finalists will be provided with travel and accommodation assistance for this purpose. The Overall Winning entry will receive a $500 prize and a trophy. The shortlisted entries will receive a $100 prize and a medal.  

ENTRIES CLOSE:26 July 2024  




Conditions & Guidelines  

  1. The Parli-Flicks NSW Parliament Short Film Award is free to enter.  
  2. The film must not exceed one minute in length (including credits).  
  3. The entrant/s must be Year 5 – 12 students enrolled in a school in New South Wales.  
  4. Immediate family members of NSW Parliament employees, or the immediate family of Members of the NSW Parliament are not eligible to enter.  
  5. Entrants are responsible for any and all expenses that they incur in the making of the short film that they enter in the competition. The entrant will not be reimbursed for any and all expenses that they incur in the making of the short film, regardless of whether or not they win the competition.  
  6. Entries must not depict violence, smoking, alcohol or drug abuse. The short film must not be offensive or have objectionable content. Inclusion of coarse language is strongly discouraged.  
  7. All film entries must contain credits which list all the authors/creators of the entry and any actors that appear in the film.  
  8. All copyright, moral rights and rights of personality for all content, music and actors must be obtained by the film maker. Failure to clear these rights will result in removal of the entry from consideration in the competition.  
  9. NSW Parliament takes no responsibility for any failure by an entrant to obtain the necessary authorisations. Entrants warrant that their short film (and any material comprising their short film) does not infringe the intellectual property rights or any other rights of any person.  
  10. Entrants give the NSW Parliament and ASPG the right to use entrant content in any form they choose for promotion of the Parli-Flicks – NSW Parliament Short Film Award or other promotional opportunities which may arise.  
  11. Entries without a fully completed entry form (via Launchpad) will not be accepted.  
  12. Entries not submitted via Launchpad will not be accepted.
  13. Entrants accept that the decision of the judges’ panel is final and no correspondence will be entered into.  
  14. Winners will be notified by email.  
  15. The Presentation night and overall winner announcement will be on Tuesday 22 October 2024 
  16. Winners and Finalists agree to be photographed for promotional purposes at the award night.  
  17. Entry into the competition means that the entrant warrants that they meet the entry eligibility requirements and accept these terms and conditions.  


Sponsored by Australasian Study of Parliament Group (ASPG)  

NSW Parliamentary Education & Engagement